Facebook Wants Users To Install Moments Or Risk Losing Automatically Uploaded Photos

Facebook Wants Users To Install Moments Or Risk Losing Automatically Uploaded Photos

Facebook is really trying to get people on board with Moments, its photo sharing app. Instead of having the main app as a catch all for all functions and features, the company has pulled some universally used features and made them into specific apps such as with Messenger.

In the case of Moments, Facebook will push users to download the app or face having their uploaded photos deleted. Before Moments, Facebook’s main app automatically uploaded photos from the phone to private albums on Facebook for future sharing.

It appears that Facebook didn’t get much pushback or groans about having to download another app purely for one function, but that could be because some users either had intentions of downloading Moments later or just ignored the announcement—which Facebook made some time ago. What wasn’t mentioned was that automatically uploaded photos would be deleted from the site.

Users have three options at the moment: download their photos into a zip file and skip over Moments (which they’ll likely get eventually anyway), let their photos be deleted, or get Moments. Facebook is giving users until July 7th to get Moments or the zip file.

RELATED
Facebook Will Show Ads To Users Beyond The Site
Facebook’s Live Streaming Feature Is Now Available For All Users


Starting with Kabir News in 2013, James has focused on tech, gaming, and entertainment. When not writing, he enjoys catching up on sci-fi and horror shows and comics. He can be followed on Twitter @MetalSwift.

Leave a Comment