Earlier today Facebook announced that it would no longer limit who are allowed to view the accounts of deceased members. Prior to this decision, Facebook would change the memorial account to the settings to allow only friends to view the page. With this new direction, anyone who could view the page before—depending on the deceased’s original settings—will be able to see it.
Facebook will also allow Look Back compilations for memorial accounts. The decision was prompted after John Berlin’s plea to Facebook to make a Look Back video for his deceased son garnered media attention and the attention of millions of people on YouTube.
Facebook addressed these changes on their official blog saying that it was their way of respecting a user’s wishes in death. “Changes like this are part of a larger, ongoing effort to help people when they face difficult challenges like bereavement on Facebook,” the blog reads. “We will have more to share in the coming months as we continue to think through how best to help people decide how they want to be remembered and what they want to leave behind for loved ones. “