Google’s Safe Browsing Will Now Protect Users From Fake Download Buttons and Content

Google's Safe Browsing Will Now Protect Users From Fake Download Buttons and Content

Google is usually on top of things when it comes to stopping users from running into dangerous or uncleared sites via Chrome. If the page or site in question poses a security threat users will get a red warning page alerting them. From there, it’s up to the user to either leave the site or continue onward—which might be the intended case.

Via a post on Google’s security blog, the company announced the expansion of Safe Browsing:

“You may have encountered social engineering in a deceptive download button, or an image ad that falsely claims your system is out of date. Today, we’re expanding Safe Browsing protection to protect you from such deceptive embedded content, like social engineering ads.”

Google's Safe Browsing Will Now Protect Users From Fake Download Buttons and Content

These tactics are used when attempting install different kinds of ill-meaning wares for a variety of reasons. The warning page will look the same, but will since Google is throwing a wider net to include “social engineering attacks,” Safe Browsing should prove even more effective in doing its job as a frontline defender when online.

As always user vigilance is just as important in keeping your system safe. While Chrome will throw a red flag that a site is suspect, if you venture onto unfamiliar sites, use caution—especially with download “buttons” and software prompts. Even when trying to close ads on streaming sites, you could still end up on another potentially threatening site.


Starting with Kabir News in 2013, James has focused on tech, gaming, and entertainment. When not writing, he enjoys catching up on sci-fi and horror shows and comics. He can be followed on Twitter @MetalSwift.

Leave a Comment